For the Love of Plarn

Lately, I’ve been obsessed with plarn (plastic bag yarn). I live with four other people, and we all do our own grocery shopping, so our pantry is always overrun with plastic grocery bags.

FullSizeRender

It can take centuries for a plastic bag to decompose. Even once it has broken down, it remains toxic. Instead of throwing them away or letting them continue to fill up our pantry, I turn our grocery bags into crochet material! It’s really a win-win-win. I don’t end up blowing all my money on yarn, and there are fewer plastic bags getting caught on tree branches, floating in the ocean, occupying landfills, and damaging the environment. For more facts on plastic bags, click here.

Here’s a great tutorial on turning bags into plarn.

Follow those instructions, and here’s the result:

IMG_1032

The creative possibilities are endless. Plarn is a great material for bags, rugs, coasters, and even jewelry! It’s trendy, sturdy, waterproof, and easy to clean.

Here are a few of my plarn products:

fpi2I0dWQM8-7BS7tKz4tFSHPNmK4S5kqQfU24xxo-o 4yMJ-hjEmCwf_K8F6NqIKuwQDwPf2wjx6CK0ZQcOg9E ZYFMzvaSwm0Q7xE1pH2CahLO8v52bHqiZMS4Qr4JVN4 04hJOnf_aHHYU_-8agIbmXp8x3rkvVqar-Ik4ZMzViA

Do you have too many plastic bags at home? Make them into plarn and create your own projects! I would love to see what you make. Alternatively, you can send them to me and get a discount on any of my plarn products. Email me at littleelm.etsy@gmail.com if you’re interested!

First time visiting my site? Sign up for my newsletter to receive updates and special offers from my shop!

This entry was published on February 7, 2015 at 10:18 pm. It’s filed under Crochet, DIY, Small Business and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “For the Love of Plarn

  1. I’ve recently discovered plarn – and quite excited by the possibilities

    Like

Leave a Reply

