Small Business Spotlight: Kismet Boutique

For this post, I decided to write about a small, local business in Houston. Kismet Boutique is located in Houston’s East End neighborhood and is single-handedly run by a woman with a vision and hope for her community to develop and thrive. This week I had the opportunity to pick the brain of the owner, and now I want to share her words with you!

11017493_746448308786185_6104669455597627351_n

Give us a brief description of Kismet Boutique.

Kismet is a labor of love inspired by my love of shopping, the women that love to shop, and the ever changing East End neighborhood. It is an affordable specialty boutique focused on the beauty of every lady that sets foot inside. We strive to offer the best in affordable fashion, products, and vendors.

How long have you been in business?

Kismet opened its doors on May 19th, 2014.

What made you decide to open a boutique?

I have always loved shopping and the thrill it gave me, so after losing my job I decided to open a place where ladies could come shop. It gives me great pleasure to see my clients happy when they leave with their purchases. That truly gives me great joy and fulfills me as a person.

What drew you to the East End?

I was raised in the East End, in the very neighborhood where my boutique is. I have always had a fondness for the East End and it holds a special place in my heart. This is where I grew up, live, and now have my business.

What are your dreams for the future of your business?

My dream for the future of my boutique is to be a place where people genuinely enjoy shopping and for it to be known throughout the community and the city I love.

Do you have any advice for aspiring small business owners?

My advice for aspiring business owners would be to never give up on your dream. If you are truly passionate and believe in your business, don’t give up or get discouraged. Have faith, patience, perseverance, and love for your business. Also, network in the community you serve and be genuine, be yourself.

Thanks, Cristina!

If you live in Houston, I absolutely encourage you to pay a visit to Kismet Boutique. The boutique is adorable, and Cristina is a delightful, friendly, and welcoming person. You can also find a variety of Little Elm’s plarn items for sale there!

11149248_374435786078411_1886446055663848042_n-1

Kismet Boutique is located in the Tlaquepaque Market on Telephone Road. Like them on Facebook and follow them on Instagram @kismetboutiquehouston!

This entry was published on August 2, 2015 at 1:40 pm. It’s filed under Small Business and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

